ESTER (European Graduate School for Training in Economic and Social Historical Research) is a European platform for postgraduate teaching.

What is ESTER

The European Graduate Schoolfor Training in Economic and Social Historical Research (ESTER) is a European collaboration of prestigious universities and institutions. The ESTER-network aims at improving and internationalizing the education and training of young scholars in the field of economic and social history. The current ESTER-network involves more than 60 universities throughout Europe, its organization currently being led by Leiden University.

The ESTER-network offers high-level research training for PhD-students in an international context. This training consists of Advanced Seminars and Research Design Courses (RDC). Advanced Seminars focus on a specific topic within economic and social history, whereas the RDC focuses on the PhD-dissertations of the participants. An overview of previous Advanced Seminars and RDC’s you will find here.

History of ESTER

In 1989 the N.W. Posthumus Institute took the initiative to establish a European graduate training program for postgraduates, the European Graduate School for Training in Economic and Social Historical Research (ESTER). More than 50 European universities have become institutional members of ESTER. During the 1990s ESTER participants organised annually three so-called Advanced Seminars, which proved very valuable. From 1999 on these were supplemented by a Research Design Course. The Research Design Courses of ESTER are particularly successful. The number of participants is large and the reactions to the content offered are good. It was decided to give priority to the Research Design Course. Because more PhD’s attend the regular conferences, the need for Advanced Seminars seems to decline somewhat. Nevertheless, there still is some demand for specialised meetings particularly conducive for PhD’s and young academics. ESTER, therefore, will continue to organise such Advanced Seminars occasionally.

The Board of ESTER

Board Members
Prof.dr. Maria Ågren, Uppsala University
Prof.dr. Lena Andersson-Skog, Umeå University
Prof.dr. Andrés Barrera González, Madrid Universidad Complutense 
Prof.dr. Per Boje, University of Southern Denmark 
Prof.dr. Huw Bowen, Swansea University (UK; Wales)
Prof.dr. Ian Brown, SOAS University of London 
Prof.dr. Kristine Bruland, University of Oslo / Kristine Bruland, University of Geneva
Prof.dr. Erik Buyst, KU Leuven
Prof.dr. John Cantwell, Rutgers Business School, Newark and New Brunswick
Prof.dr. Joaquim da Costa Leite, Universidade de Aveiro
Prof.dr. Martin Daunton, University of Cambridge
Prof.dr. Renzo Derosas, Ca' Foscari University of Venice
Dr. Lydia Dracaki, Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences, Athens
Prof.dr. Jean-Francois Eck, Université Lille III, Villeneuve d'Ascq
Prof.dr. Josef Ehmer, Universität Wien
Prof.dr. Giovanni Federico, European University Institute, Florence
Prof.dr. Lourenzo Fernández Prieto, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela
Prof.dr. Helder Fonseca, Universidade de Évora
Prof.dr. José Ignacio Fortea Pérez, Universidad de Cantabria
Prof.dr. Andreas Gestrich, German Historical Institute London
Prof.dr. Anita Göransson, Linköping University
Prof.dr. Heinz-Gerhard Haupt, Universität Bielefeld
Prof.dr. Peter Hertner, Martin-Luther Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Prof.dr. Marjatta Hietala, University of Tampere
Prof.dr. Milan Hlavačka, Charles University in Prague
Prof.dr. Lewis Johnman, Westminster
Prof.dr.em. Hartmut Kaelble, Humboldt-Universität Berlin
Prof.dr. Neville Kirk, Manchester
Prof.dr. Michael Kopczynski, University of Warsaw
Prof.dr. Robert Lee, University of Liverpool
Prof.dr. Jean-Paul Lehners, University of Luxembourg
Prof.dr.em. Catharina Lis, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Prof.dr. Paolo Malanima, Institute of Studies on Mediterranean Societies                                           
Prof.dr. Jordi Maluquer, University of Barcelona
Prof.dr. Tomas Mantecon Movellan, Universidad de Cantabria
Prof.dr. Philippe Mioche, Aix-Marseille University
Prof.dr. Mary Nash, University of Barcelona
Prof.dr. Illka Nummela, University of Jyväskylä
Prof.dr. Socrates D. Petmezas, University of Crete, Athens 
Prof.dr. Paulina de los Reyes, University of Stockholm
Prof.dr. Janina Rosicka, Cracow
Prof.dr. Biagio Salvemini, University of Bari
Prof.dr. José Manuel Santos Pérez, University of Salamanca
Prof.dr. Phillip Sarasin, Universität Zürich
Prof.dr. Carmen Sarasúa, Autonomus University of Barcelona
Prof.dr. Lennart Schön, University of Lund
Prof.dr. Rainer Schulze, University of Essex
Prof.dr. Natalia Selounskaya, University of Moscow
Prof.dr. Dieter Stiefel, Universität Wien 
Prof.dr. Klaus Tenfelde, Ruhr-Universität Bochum 
Prof.dr. Nuno Valério, Universidade Tecnica de Lisboa
Prof.dr. Eric Vanhaute, Ghent University

Practical organization of ESTER and contact

The organization of the ESTER-program is conducted by the N.W. Posthumus Institute at Leiden University. For information about the ESTER-program, please contact us at nwp@hum.leidenuniv.nl.

Last Modified: 29-05-2013